Sue Corbett Author Visit


Sue Corbett

FCSC Library    Teacher Resources  CBIS IMC   

  Below you will find links to assist you in planning activities to promote our author's visit from Sue Corbett! Please let me know if I can be of assistance.

Created by Lee Ann Uecker in January 2009

Sue Corbett Baseball Links Language Arts Webquests

 

 

Sue Corbett:

Sue Corbett's main webpage http://www.suecorbett.com/

Author Interview http://cynthialeitichsmith.blogspot.com/2006/02/author-interview-sue-corbett-on-free.html

General Biography Information on Sue: Biography Resource Article

Activity Guide for Free Baseball: Created by the Young Hoosier Book Award Committee

 

Sue Corbett  

 

 

Great Educational Links to Support Our Author Visit:

Pathfinder on Baseball http://nbk.grolier.com/cgi-bin/article?assetid=a2002380-h This article provides the history of baseball, general rules and information on baseball, baseball terms, baseball player profiles and more.

United Streaming: www.unitedstreaming.com -A search in this database will net you a variety of education movies covering standards across the subject areas. Teacher guides suggest activities and provide quizzes.

Baseball Timeline http://resources.kaboose.com/kidslinks/sports/baseball/baseball-timeline.html

Baseball Almanac http://www.baseball-almanac.com/poetry/po_stmo.shtml

The Science of Baseball is the Exploratorium's collection of activities and descriptions involving physics, biomechanics, and baseball. http://www.exploratorium.edu/baseball/

 

Sue Corbett

 

 

Language Art Activities

"Casey at Bat" Reader's Theater http://www.aaronshep.com/rt/RTE23.html

Take Me Out to the Ball Game Lyrics and Music: http://kids.niehs.nih.gov/lyrics/ballgame.htm

Article on the History of the Song "Take Me Out to the Ball Game" http://memory.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/loc.natlib.ihas.200153239/default.html

Baseball Alliterations: http://www.abcteach.com/baseball/alliteraton.htm

Baseball is: http://www.abcteach.com/baseball/baseballis.htm

Baseball Team Jersey: http://www.abcteach.com/baseball/jersey.htm

Baseball KWL Chart: http://www.abcteach.com/baseball/kwl.htm

Baseball Similes: http://www.abcteach.com/baseball/similes.htm

Baseball Writing Prompts: http://www.abcteach.com/baseball/writpromp.htm

Baseball Card: http://www.abcteach.com/baseball/pertradcard.htm

 

Sue Corbett

 

 

Baseball Webquests:

http://www.todaysteacher.com/BaseballWebQuest/TakeMeOuttoTheBallgame.htm

http://people.heidelberg.edu/~mfellens/baseball.html

http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~greentown/webquests/baseball/bballwebq.htm

 

Sue Corbett